Off Topic: My moment of Pygmalion reading Reign Beaus

I went to the Avenue up in Forsyth again today.  I spent about 90 minutes at the Avenue Starbux reading the August/September 2009 issue of Military History magazine.   The Letter from Military History begins with the comment that “While it is something of a truism that ‘amateurs talk tactics, but professionals talk logistics’—a line attributed to various generals—it is a longstanding truth that armies cannot campaign successfully without adequate supplies.”

When I first read those words, I thought to myself, one could also say that “optimists talk tactics, but cynics/realists talk logistics.”   Ponder a few minutes, if you would, about how many times the little leaguers or the Girl Scouts or the Twilight Fan Club members have excitedly shouted:

- “We’ll win regionals, and then divisionals, and go to the state championship game!”

- “We’ll sell more than Troupes B, C, and D combined and win the prize!”

- “And then we’ll have enough signatures and we’ll win that trip to see the making of the third film!”

And in the mean time, someone is reminding these bright whippersnappers:

- “Okay, but with what uniforms and equipment?”

- “Where would we find sponsorship?”

- “How will you get all these signatures if everyone who would sign the petition won’t be reachable?”

The professional, the cynic/realist doesn’t rain on anyone’s parade–not in my opinion.  He merely emphasizes that there must be a means to an end or else there will be no end.

~!~

I took 141/Peachtree Parkway north to the Avenue.  En route, just before I had reached the John’s Creek Borders area (likely after Abbotts Bridge), I looked in my rear and side-view mirrors to see how close was the car behind me.  I noticed a trio of motorcyclists.  I took a few pictures.  When I got home and looked at them, my jaw took a plunge.

I think it’s a very well-taken photograph, oh but the subject of the picture.   The words that immediately came to mind: I think I’m in love.

But that’s silly, isn’t it?  I’m not sure if I want to be in love…   So then, what is it that I felt coursing through my lungs and brain as I looked at the actual pixels of this image?  Something similar to what Pygmalion felt for the statue he had made and named Galatea.   I have zero intel about this man, where he came from or where he was going; if his heart or soul is already claimed by someone else–but I must meet him.  If any of you recognize him from his helmet or his motorcycle, please leave a comment or drop me a message at the email address you can find in the About Sitting Pugs page.

Click here, here, here, and here for more photos of him and one of his compadres.

When I told one of my friends about the motorcyclist, she sent me to the music video of Paul McCartney’s song about a girl that loves a biker icon.   I like the video, but the song itself isn’t melodically enamoring (enough) for me.

~!~

More pictures of my day:

Siamese cherriesVertical view.   Side viewLine of scrimmage.

If only I had a dining room that had this POV.

~!~

If this boy were real, what would his name be?

8 thoughts on “Off Topic: My moment of Pygmalion reading Reign Beaus

  1. TheLady

    Cool pics. Haha never would have pegged you for liking the bikers. If that statue were a real boy I’d give him a name like Stuart or Samuel. Something for a thin, bookish kind of boy.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The Highlight of my Taco Mac bench « Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

  3. Moshe

    I think the relationship between professional & amateur cannot be compared to the relationship between optimist & pessimist/realist. I think it’s possible to be professional and optimistic or amateur and pessimistic. The professional, however, is differentiated by his more extensive experience, which allows him to see very quickly all the steps necessary to reach the goal (execute the tactic) envisioned by the amateur, and can point out all the prerequisites that must be in place before it can happen.

    Reply
    1. sittingpugs Post author

      I think it’s possible to be professional and optimistic or amateur and pessimistic.

      Certainly. I was just thinking about what other “types” or labels or roles would think tactics vs. logistics.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Labor Day 2009: the Motorcycle Man re-appears « Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

  5. Kavitha

    Since you’ve seen the biker a second time, might I actually suggest Craig’s List?!?! A non-stalkerish entry, perhaps?

    That’s funny about the Military History quote…. In project management, I think about tactics on the broad scale (strategies). However, when it comes down to it, I always talk logistics, in particular assessing the resources (human and financial) for accomplishing a task, as well as the nitty-gritty of ok, what letters and travel arrangements are needed to make the task happen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

