Daily Archives: September 7, 2009

Labor Day 2009: the Motorcycle Man re-appears

My mind is aflutter with so many words and motifs that I can only start from the beginning.  The beginning of my Monday, September 7th.  Seven, my favorite number.

In the dream I had this morning, I was off to Chinese class at church but realized when I got there that I had left all of my Chinese notebooks and homework at home.  It was too late to call home for someone to drop them off because I didn’t know where I had put my notebooks.

I didn’t wake up today until around noon.  It wasn’t until nearly 1pm that I went out for my “morning” beverage.  I decided to go to Tin Drum to get a Thai tea because I was in the mood for one of them and Tin Drum makes them not as sweet as actual Thai restaurants in the vicinity.  The gods apparently didn’t want me to change up my “morning” beverage to anything but a latte; when I got home and sipped some of the tea, it wasn’t to my liking.  I got right back in my car and went to the nearest Starbux for an iced vanilla latte.

A few hours later, after concluding that I did not want to spend my Labor Day at home,  I decided to watch Adam (2009) at the AMC Mansell in Alpharetta.  Written and directed by Max Mayer, the film is a layman’s introduction to the world of Asperger’s Syndrome.  I had heard the term before on account of research into the correlational incidence between Asperger’s and asexuality.  The film’s depiction of this condition was not the reason I chose to see the film, neither was the casting of Hugh Dancy or Rose Byrne.  I am not a fan of either actor, though, Rose is quite pretty.  No, it was because I really didn’t want to spend Labor Day at home, and the film’s trailer (as seen on Youtube and not in theatres–and I had seen it half a dozen times at the cinema) convinced me to give it a try.

When I go to the AMC Mansell in Alpharetta, I take 400 N or local (basically Spalding-Holcomb Bridge-Nesbitt Ferry-Old Alabama).  But how I get to 400 leaves me with three options.  I can take N. Peachtree to Mt. Vernon to Dunwoody Club Drive to Spalding to Roberts/Northridge area.  Or, I can take Happy Hollow to Dunwoody Club Drive to Spalding to Roberts/Northridge.  Due to recent road work at the intersection of Dunwoody Club and Spalding and Roberts, though, I would’ve gone Happy Hollow to Dunwoody Club Drive to Jett Ferry to Spalding to Roberts/Northridge and then to 400.

There I went, driving down Happy Hollow and heading to Dunwoody Club Drive, listening to Abra Moore’s album Everything Changed.  After I turned left onto Dunwoody Club and approached the light at Brook Farm and Mt. Vernon, I noticed two men on motorcycles on the opposite side of the street.  One man was in the go-straight-down-Dunwoody-Club lane; the other man was in the turn-left-on-to-Mt.-Vernon lane.  The former wore light blue jeans and a wife beater.   I couldn’t really tell what the latter wore until he turned.  It wasn’t until I was in the middle of the intersection, driving straight, that I realized, “OH MY GAWD!! THAT WAS THE MOTORCYCLE MAN!!!” *

In the middle of July, I was headed to the Avenue Forsyth when I snapped a few pictures of a man on a motorcycle.  It was the closest to love-at-first-sight** that I have ever gotten.  By the time I had driven past the Orchard Park Starbux and Kroger, I decided that I had to “follow” him.  I made a right down Jett Ferry and then a right onto Spalding.  I had lost “visuals” on the man and had no idea where he was traveling, but estimated that he must be going to 141 northbound (considering the first time I saw him he was going north on 141).

In my eagerness and determination, I ran through a yellow light and dodged a collision (that Winters Chapel-Spalding intersection is horrible).  My heart was pounding, by the time I got on to 141, having past the Forum on my left, I started to feel like I just did something really bad and was fleeing from the scene of deviance.  I had just about thirty minutes to get myself back towards Mansell and Northpoint Parkway area.  I said to myself that if I didn’t see him by the time I got to the Medlock Regal, I would certainly turn towards the movie theatre.

Well, I didn’t see him but kept driving.  I then resolved to continue on 141 N until I reached the Avenue, at which point I could get back on 400, head south, and either try to make the show or go home.   I habitually check my rearview and side view mirrors to see how far/close is the vehicle behind me.  I don’t remember when he appeared (I surmise that it was about the Abbotts Bridge area), but another man on a motorcycle was behind me.  He wore a light gray jacket and sunglasses that would enable one to see one’s own reflection.  I believe his helmet was black (I don’t remember).  He was riding very close to me.  I didn’t have my camera with me, so there will be no visual aid of him.

I must’ve looked at my rear and side mirrors more often than I did ahead at the road in front of me.  By the grace of the gods, I didn’t have anything to worry about in terms of wonky motorists or deer.  This motorcyclist was initially behind me, and then he got beside me and in front of me.  He “followed” me for about twenty miles–from somewhere before John’s Creek all the way to 400 south!  He eventually exited on McFarland, while I kept going on to Haynes Bridge.

Although he was a stranger and I had utterly no information about his identity or his personality, during those twenty or so miles that we were traveling around each other, I had never felt as metaphysically/metaphorically/abstractly close to another human being.  I thought my heart was going to throb out of my rib cage; my back was soaked in perspiration, and my lips had gone numb (probably from the air conditioning that did a lousy job at combating the sweating).

He must have realized that I had become intrigued by and  focused/ fixated–n’importe-on him because he continued to ride very near me, and at some point had started doing tricks.  He was standing and doing figure-eights (going from left to right like George Emerson following Charlotte Bartlett from the train station in A Room With a View).   But not once did he look at me (when he was riding next to me).  It probably wasn’t necessary.  I do believe that for the first time in my life I was able to relate to all the romantics of literature and history.

I did make it to the movie, enjoyed it more than I thought I would, but it’s not really something to analyze or review.  But, here’s a note on the Product Placement and Branding: The Little Prince (through Rose Byrne’s voice-over), Apple laptop, Playbill, Kellogg’s All-Bran cereal (in a white box), Amy’s Macaroni & Cheese, ‘Cesca, Pretending to be Normal: Living With Asperger’s Syndrome, Employment for Individuals With Asperger Syndrome, Duane Park, T-Mobile, Lipton English Breakfast tea (brand visible on tea bag, flavor spoken in conversation), Cherry Lane Theatre, UPS.

~!~

* Am I really sure that I saw the same man?  Unless the man has more than one motorcycle and more than one blue helmet, perhaps that man wasn’t the same one that I saw a couple of months ago.  I still want to find him, though.  If anyone knows anything about him, please contact me at the email address found on the About Sitting Pugs page.

**Not to be mistaken with lust or infatuation at first glance, which is something I have experienced a handful of times.