Please, don’t swing Batter

I saw this story on Yahoo Sports about a woman’s firsthand experience with why maple baseball bats shouldn’t be allowed to be used in the MLB anymore–who cares if Barry Bonds wowed audiences with one. Click here to read the story.

An update from my local NBC station about Michael Hutts, a GaTech baseball player who was found dead April 11 at his dwelling. A previous story reported that Hutts died due to morphine toxicity. The update indicates not just morphine, but also heroin (or rather morphine toxicity on account of heroin). Click here for more.

3 thoughts on “Please, don’t swing Batter

  1. tmatta

    was on vacation, but I’m back in the loop. no internet at the cottage. When I was doing doctoral work at USC, my wife and I went to a Dodger game and saw them play the Phillies. We had seats just behind first base, second row I think. The article doesn’t say where she was seated. I wonder if it would be more efficient to look at where the likely places the bats would go if they broke or a player let go of it rather than replace the maple bats. I’d rather see maple than aluminum. I’ve seen little league ballplayers get creamed from a ball off an aluminum bat and “it ain’t pretty!”

    Reply
  2. sittingpugs Post author

    I’m sure statistical and physics analyses have been done (by someone ever ^O^) on where a maple bat is most likely to strike if it should break upon making contact with a baseball.

    Perhaps spectators wishing to sit in the “danger zone” should sign a waiver?

    Reply

Leave a comment