Cold Noodles embossed with the Falcons

I’ve got a story about a few of the Atlanta Falcons’ rookies to share and it all started with naeng-myun, or cold Korean buckwheat noodles. It reached 90 degrees in Atlanta today, and after I left work I felt like having a bowl of naeng-myun. I went with my mom and sister to the Super H-Mart in John’s Creek. The merchant didn’t quite have the cold noodles, but had a variation called “jang ban myun” if memory serves correctly.

We then went across the street to the Mozart Bakery where I got a green tea smoothie bubble tea. Then, we were debating where to go to take a walk. Container Store? Northpoint Mall (nah, we were there yesterday). And we settled on Perimeter Mall. We nearly always park at the Nordstrom’s deck. Upon entering the mall, I saw a group of people gathered along the railing between the Falcons store and J.Crew. My eyes grew big.

“Fan meeting!”

Despite a few moments’ hesitation, I knew I had to get in line–the timing couldn’t have been more ideal given that Sitting Pugs is practically a one year-old. My mom had my dad drop by the digital camera. I went to the Falcons store and purchased a towel to be used as a canvas for the collection of John Hancocks.

Behold (in order of ‘appearance’):

Click here for full picture.

Now, Behold the finished product:

The Whose What close-up:

In order that the towel was signed:

1. Cornerback Wilrey Fontenot drew me a smiley face.

2. Offensive tackle Sam Baker’s favorite number is 50.

3. Linebacker Curtis Lofton’s favorite color is green.

4. Running back Thomas Brown.

5. Quarterback Matt Ryan drew me a pig (I had requested a farm animal ^Y^).

Click here for a picture of Matt Ryan in the process of decorating my towel.

6. Cornerback Chevis Jackson’s favorite car is a BMW 750Li.

7. Safety Thomas DeCoud also drew me a smiley face.

8. Defensive end Kroy Biermann (I asked him what his favorite state was; he said “Montana”).

9. Linebacker Robert James was told he could write anything he wanted, and so he wrote, “To #1 Fan.”

10. Tight end Keith Zinger.

11. Wide receiver Harry Douglas’s favorite candy is Starburst.

<~>

In case you couldn’t tell, I’m wearing my new, new glasses in the photos.

Closing note: I’m 3 to 5 years older than all these rookies.

17 thoughts on “Cold Noodles embossed with the Falcons

  1. tmatta

    Serendipity? WOW! And to think, the only signature I have is Troy Polamalu on an SC banner/flag. how many of those rookies will likely make the team?
    Oh, BTW, the glasses are great!

    Reply
  2. sittingpugs Post author

    Good question. another question: how many will end up on the injury/reserve after pre-season?

    These things happen for a reason. Other things…just happen.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Me with the Falcons « Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

  4. C.A.Margonper

    Not that I follow the sports, but I liked this post a lot. I can only imagine the time it took you to make it.

    “To #1 Fan.” -> That’s really cute. πŸ™‚

    How lucky of you, heh? To find the guys like that… And I think you look great in the pictures. Now, don’t forget: keep that towel in the safe. It’s worth a lot of money now! πŸ˜€

    Again, happy birthday! πŸ™‚

    Claudia

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Sister Pants Hood Traveling; Jaguars edge over the Falcons « Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

  6. Pingback: For by the Grace of Ovie Mughelli « Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

  7. Tisha

    WOOOOW there goes Harry Douglas I went to HighSchool With him and he actually on my facebook I havent been up there in a while we was pretty close in Highschool but we dont talk like we used too.

    Reply
  8. TonyVote

    thats awesome. i wish i lived near my favorite team(philadelphia eagles). in NJ the team of choice is NY Giants, and NY Jets. since i can’t stand the Giants(them being rivals) i would probably consider going to see the Jets rookies if they were to come around.

    Reply
    1. sittingpugs Post author

      What’s the status on Kevin Curtis for the 2010 season? He’s among the few NFL players that look good with his helmet on andoff. Tom Brady’s forehead is too big. He looks much better with helmet on.

      Reply
  9. Pingback: Red to Love | Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

  10. Pingback: On Elusive Victory: Misapplied Data Models or Overlooked Variable? | Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

  11. Pingback: On Elusive Victory: Misapplied Data Models or Overlooked Variables? | Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

Leave a Reply

