Off Topic: Today’s Verse 19

I was thinking about football when I wrote it.

Recede w/ your alluring glow
A prism of eventualities
Scrawling over a beach-front bench.
I deny the captors
their glory
I deride their ever-tallying
remarks.
This time w/ your echoes
burning bright
I will stand against the fortress
you brew in the dark.
And by then, all of your broiled majesties
will condone a splintering,
irreverent heart,
such is the one lodged
in this beach-front park.
Proceed, the tender traps
are the cloudless confined
w/ your enduring tropes
A chasm of perpetuality fawning
over a freedom-falling star.
I deny the captors’ vengeance
I deny they are my splintered heart
Bellowing below deck
brutality undermines every start
.

–yiqi 25 nov 08 5:37pm

5 thoughts on “Off Topic: Today’s Verse 19

  1. kevmoore

    I’ll take your word for it 🙂

    There is a wonderful quote from the late Bill Shankly, which, although referring to what the Americans call soccer, goes like this:

    “Football is not a matter of life and death. It is far more important than that….”

    He was a managerial genius for Liverpool F.C. many years ago. He also seemed to be something of a philosopher….

    Reply
  2. sittingpugs Post author

    I don’t like to say “soccer….” i go all out with “futbol.”

    My thought process while writing Verse 19 began with envisioning the neverending so-close-and-yet-so-far ness of victory. a cold, bitter wind. once i got down the first seven lines, i then made a conscious choice to repeat certain sounds or sentence structure–i wrote it out in paragraph form and then broke the sentences into lines.

    Thanks for stopping by, kev.

    Reply
  3. kevmoore

    A pleasure, SP. I know what you mean, sat watching Hull City (my chosen team in the Premiership this season) last night as they conceded a goal in extra time against Stoke, thereby denying them a win was a cold bitter wind indeed….:-)

    Reply
  4. sittingpugs Post author

    There is more. Go to the Select Category drop-down, choose Other, and then scroll down. You’ll see Verse 18, 17, 16, etc if you keep navigating backwards.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

