Chick-fil-A Bowl New Years Eve 2008: LSU sends GaTech an avalanche

I had Italian food for dinner with my soulmate and my best friend earlier tonight. I could’ve finagled my way in front of someone’s hi-def wide-screen tellyvsion to watch the LSU Tigers and the GaTech Yellow Jackets grind poppy seed muffins at the Georgia Dome for the 2008 Chick-fil-A Bowl crown, but I chose to decline. Thus, I experienced the game-play via ESPN gamecast like I did a month ago when the Miami Hurricanes lost to GaTech.

By the time dinner ended, I got home, washed my hair, and flipped on my laptop, it was halftime and LSU was kicking GaTech’s hot cross buns 35 to 3. The Tigers had five touchdowns (one in the first quarter by running back Charles Scott, the rest in the second quarter courtesy of Charles Scott two times, quarterback Jordan Jefferson once, and running back Keiland Williams once). As for the Yellow Jackets, a field goal in the second quarter by kicker Scott Blair.

The third quarter sulked to the bottom before anyone scored. LSU kicker Colt David sent a fifty-three yard field goal sailing. Tigers 38 and Yellow Jackets 3. GaTech had gotten into the red zone in the bottom of the quarter but was unable to score before it ended. The fourth quarter began with GaTech quarterback Josh Nesbitt getting sacked by LSU defensive end Lazarius Livingston. Jordan Jefferson connected with wide receiver Brandon LaFell for eighty-frickin-some-odd yards for a touchdown…which was then retracted on account of an offensive hold penalty. GaTech got back into the red zone in the bottom of the fourth quarter. Unfortunately, Nesbitt fumbled and the ball was recovered by LSU defensive end Kirston Pittman. Et puis il est fini. And then it ended. LSU tore the Eat Mor Chikin Noodle Bowl from GaTEch by leaps and bounds, 38 to 3. Final score.

Observations & Miscellania:

1. “Watching” via gamecast wasn’t so weird after all. The suspense factor was much stronger. The “ticker tape” had most of my undivided attention. My ears were tuned in to the first season of Soul Food.

2. One of my friends, and a GaTech alum, informed me when halftime was over. And then there was a brief chat that went a little something like this:

me: the pain one field goal? what was the halftime festivities
Friend: the only good thing about this game are the BLUE uniforms we are wearing – i love them!
me: how blue. navy?

Friend: i dunno i finished unpacking while halftime was going on. yes navy blue tops, gold pants, gold helmets.
me: why does that sound like Notre Dame?
Friend: it’s not, their gold is shinier. our gold is more of a mustard gold. Players love wearing blue. this is the first time since the acc championship game of 2006 that we have worn blue jerseys. the fans are divided on the blue. it’s our “accent” color.

me: anyone sing the national anthem?
Friend: they didn’t televise that. all the announcers are wearing tuxes.
me: dayam
Friend: yeah all black tie.

me: how did LSU get five TDs in the first half? i can read the stats & what not, but.
Friend: no defense. they also shut us down fast.
me: how has GT’s defense fared throughout the season.
Friend: we’ve been so-so, but we are coming off our WORST defensive effort of the year against UGA. we let them score 42 points on us. The preview article on AJC today–Tech’s defense had season-worst performances for points allowed (42), yards allowed (488), passing yards allowed (407), yards per play allowed (7.9) and most big plays (20 yards or more) allowed.

<~>

Behold, the navy jerseys:

Image caption: LSU’s Chad Jones (3) breaks up a pass intended for Georgia Tech’s Demaryius Thomas (8) in the first quarter of Chick-fil-A Bowl NCAA college football game Wednesday, Dec. 31, 2008.

Picture cred here. Scroll to the fifteenth image.

Get game summary, stats, and play-by-play here.

3 thoughts on “Chick-fil-A Bowl New Years Eve 2008: LSU sends GaTech an avalanche

  1. Daniel

    OK, last night I was sort of apathetic about the loss, but after waking up this morning, the pain of it has really sunk in. What a terrible end to what was a great season.

    Reply
  2. Brad Bobo

    Sooo disappointing. But I can’t wait until next year.

    I thought the new uni’s were ugly. I like blue… but not these.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

