Wrestling Bride Wars

Edit: I was telling a friend of mine what I thought about Notorious and The Wrestler and typed out the following:

notorious was a guilty pleasure.  the wrestler…i went in with a “sports film” frame of mind.  but it ended up not being a sports film in the formulaic sense,
not quite an anti-sports film either.  it almost makes me wish i could write about it for a gender studies class.  as far as his character goes, it could almost be anything else that required a wear & tear of his body, coupled with an exhibition of it…with an audience…so obviously he could’ve been a boxer
but also someone in the army or a circus performer.

Below is the original blog entry.

<~>

Firstly, Martin Luther King Jr. Day tout le monde!

Secondly, I saw The Wrestler today (Darren Aronofsky, 200eight).   I enjoyed it.  Thematically, with respect to the prominence and function of wrestling, it reminded me of a boxing film called Fat City (John Huston, 1972).  I was going to do a standard film analysis but was then inspired to write the following:

fixture fix the picture

i saw the man with
ramen hair
his epidermis,
a mixed allocation
of an era gone by
trudging through a present
precarious

we are greeted
by a scrapbook of
lights and stages,
bits of paper
clippings and colors
youth, heights of domination
quickly fold in

steadily

loved ones scant
dove out of the picture
his own reflection abandons
a longer stretch of road
for one studded with
a buckle
under pressure

the man with
ramen hair quivers
for just a moment
surrendering
to greater call of duty
.


–yiqi 19 jan 09 8:29 PM

Click here for more The Wrestler images and here for audiovisual enhancements.

<~>

I reviewed Bride Wars (Gary Winick, 2009) for FilmThreat.  I liked it much more than I thought I would.  Kristen Johnston stole the boat, though.  I’m sure no matter how I put it, it’s going to come out wrong, but there’s something about her expressions and mannerisms that just make me laugh instaneously.  No matter the role or the film.  I can’t imagine how I’d react if she were in a serious drama.  People-dying-and-suffering-badly serious film.

Product Placement & Branding:  Including but not limited to Tiffany & Co., iMac laptop, Vera Wang, Diet Pepsi, Sprint.

Read the review here.

Click here for more Bride Wars images.

2 thoughts on “Wrestling Bride Wars

  1. kevmoore

    Nice poem, SP, very atmospheric. I’ve seen trailers for The Wrestler – it looks promising, am I imagining the plot being a little reminiscent of The Champ in some ways?

    Favourite line for today? – mmm…

    “a mixed allocation
    of an era gone by
    trudging through a present
    precarious”

    Nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

