Off Topic: Watch Men pretty butterflies, flowers, and clouds

I preface

that I am not a consumer of comic books and graphic novels.  I’m not against them in artistic form or narrative structure, I simply do not have the patience to experience them.  When I was a kid and liked flipping through Wonder Woman, Batman, Superman, and Alpha Flight issues, I only looked at the pictures.

It may or may not be a wonder why I’ve seen film adaptations of various comic books and graphic novels, such as Ghost World, The Road to Perdition, Sin City, Hell Boy, 300, and the X-Men films.  Incidentally, each of these examples can be explained with casting.  The reason, the real reason has less to do with an “excuse” to see these film versions and more to do with the spectacle, the adventure, the thrills, and the humor.  I saw Watchmen today for these very anticipations. Directed by Zack Snyder (who also put on the ritz for 300) and based on the comic book by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons,  the film runs 160 minutes and features a story without the kind of obvious, clear-cut villain that is begging for a good arse-kicking.  The “bad guy” isn’t so bad and the “good guys” have to make more compromises and sacrifices than conventional fables would allow.

I liked the film, though, and am glad I didn’t see it by myself.  If I had gone solo, I think I would’ve found my mind wandering, my attention focused on ideas other than those projected before me.

Click here for more Watchmen pictures.

^~^

*Comic book renderings that I do enjoy can be found here, here, and here (this one is technically more along the lines of drawings with a backstory than a series of images attached with descriptive text that are to be understood in relation to the others).

4 thoughts on “Off Topic: Watch Men pretty butterflies, flowers, and clouds

  1. kevmoore

    I am eagerly awaiting Watchmen – and confess to being a sucker for Superhero movies – it’s a throwback to my childhood and (continuing) love of comic book art. I used to have an enormous collection of Marvel and DC comics – “Daredevil” was my favourite, and thought the film version OK. I was unaware though, that Spawn was a comic book derivation (it reaching the shelves when I had – temporarily – put away childish things) yet I loved the movie. I guess I like the escapism – the fantastical. Apparently they’re working towards a Marvel “Avengers” movie – which should really be something. I guess I just love the fact that nowadays, they can really bring these creatures to life, whereas when I was a boy – the usually hit the screen as some dork in foam padding and multicolour pyjamas…..

    Reply
  2. sittingpugs Post author

    I guess I just love the fact that nowadays, they can really bring these creatures to life, whereas when I was a boy – the usually hit the screen as some dork in foam padding and multicolour pyjamas…..

    That is certainly an accurate then-and-now summation.

    Reply
  3. Phil

    So as a person who is uninitiated with the graphic novel, what did you feel were its strengths and weaknesses? I only ask as a hardcore fanboy of Moore’s original graphic novel who is curious for a more unbiased viewpoint on the movie. Incidentally, I loved the movie, but again, from me it’s slightly biased.

    Reply
  4. sittingpugs Post author

    The movie didn’t feel that long to me, probably because I liked Dr. Manhattan’s detachment and Veidt’s self-indulgence as portrayed by Matthew Goode.

    I’m not sure I have an opinion on strengths or weaknesses.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

