Netting the Hoop, Eliza, you’re magnificent

This Eliza is magnificent.

I mused about how much joy I get from watching televised football vs. basketball a few days ago.

I watched some Marchy mania last night on the CBS.  I’ve figured out how to watch televised basketball and not get bored:

keep my eyes on the players not holding or dribbling the ball.

A friend who thinks basketball is the best sport ever once told me good basketball players have a remarkable kind of chemistry that requires such nano-second thinking/timing of passing and shooting that it’s a thrill to watch.  When I pay attention to players with the ball, I just want them to shoot the darn sphere into the basket.  If, however, I focus on the players without the ball, then it’s about when/if they’ll get the ball and how they are reacting, which is much more interesting to me.

I had the above conversation (revelation) with another friend of mine, who then remarked about sweaty basketball courts (on account of my asking about glazed courts).  He remarked, “A common problem with the glazed courts is when the players sweat all over them.  The little kids have to come out and wipe the sweat up.  It’s kinda gross but is necessary for the safety of the players.”

I then asked the age of these kids and if they wore gloves.

“They are like elementary school kids and no gloves.  The rags are as big as them.  One or two sit underneath each basket, and as soon as a player falls
you will see the little buggers run out, get on their hands and knees, and start wiping the sweat off the court.”

Which then inspired the following:

She was as big as the towel,
crawling around my feet
after I took a dive
off balance by my own
sweat,
rivulets of the past
eighteen minutes
where i kept missing
the rim of light,
of respect
of domination

and the exertion peaked
I came down on my knees
good thing

she was as big as the towel,
pawing around my ankles
after I took a hit
soaked in my face
on the hard wood glaze
a monster, monster
miscalculation at the buzzer
.

–yiqi 20 march 09 12:37 PM

Some more choice excerpts from that same conversation:

Friend: Also sometimes, some courts have huge stickers on them to promote the school or conference or tournament they are playing in, etc.  But the stickers pose problems… Players can slip on them, cause they are slick.  Sometimes the coaches complain and the stickers are removed.

Me: And basketball isn’t given the same televised graphics bonanza as football.  In some NFL and college games, graphics are superimposed onto the field like how they do the 1st & ten line & the blue line of scrimmage.*

Friend: Yes true.  That is some amazing technology……College basketball and NBA are different.  College basketball is more of a team game.  You’ll see more fundamental basketball, more passing, more plays that involve all teammates.  In the NBA, there is a lot of isolation, meaning a lot of one-on-one plays.  NBA players can jump out of the gym though.  the NBA has the best athletes in the world, IMO.

Me: Out of MLB, NBA, NFL, NHL, and the MLS, if anyone could outrun a gunman, it would be a basketball player?  Bigger strides? Although, a futbol player might be able to outrun a football player.  It’s a toss up btwn the baseball player & the hockey player

*As in, sponsor logos can be superimposed onto the field via the same technology as 1st and Ten line and blue line of scrimmage.

5 thoughts on “Netting the Hoop, Eliza, you’re magnificent

  1. kevmoore

    ….And today’s favourite line: “rivulets of the past
    eighteen minutes
    where i kept missing
    the rim of light,”

    great stuff as usual Pugs. I remember reading Pygmalion by Shaw as kid. Not a kid anymore. Sigh.

    Reply
  2. C.A.Margonper

    I happen to like televised basketball.

    I didn’t know about the kids cleaning up the players’s sweat. Gross. Poor kids.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: March Madness: Georgia Tech surmounts Oklahoma State « Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

  4. Pingback: NFL 2010: Falcons grate the cheese out of the Cardinals « Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

Leave a Reply

