Adjacent Topic: Today’s Verse 30

This may be hurt.

Fit

This wasn’t part of prophecy
I was steady in the well
Inadvertently, you reduced me
I’m in cuffs again

I drive by your shed, hopped up on fuel
My pride unspoken, I am captured
I can’t deny this, I’m in cuffs

This wasn’t part of prophecy
I fit in with your alarm
Now you’ve proven you’ve trapped me
I’m in cuffs again

This wasn’t part of prophecy
This wasn’t part of prophecy

Calming glory that severed passion
I said Move! This can’t be good
Pat your head split your sin
Chastised for a millennium win
Clever girl you scar
Blessed, and I, I’m a toy

I drive by your shed, hopped up to bruise
My pride unspoken, I am captured
You glutton speed freak
knows time flies away
You know it soberly
To be my knife
Charts in the closet
In cases my whole file
It’s all down hill from the start

This wasn’t part of prophecy.

–yiqi 16 August 09 12:17 AM

The poem above is a re-interpretation of the song “Hit” by the Sugarcubes (you can hear it by clicking the sentence that opens this entry).  With the exception of a couple key lyrics (in the second verse), I had adopted this song as the anthem of my adolescence.  I suppose the re-written version could be as well…in the sense that a situation has arisen that was not anticipated, not imagined, and therefore, it’s overwhelming.  Perhaps too overwhelming.

Songs, films, and literature–maybe certain historical events–can effectively and beautifully encapsulate particular portions of our lives or aspects of your identity (how we think and perceive the world).  I’m sure the same could be said about/for sports leagues/franchises and life.  Think on it.  Is there a specific game, series of games, or team that could describe your life?  If so, what would it be?

I’m not yet sure about mine.

Leave a Reply

