With these hands I can do

It depends on the task.  I can write with both hands (I can write Korean better with my left hand than Chinese; FYI: I’m not Korean, but I  can read it, write it, understand a wee bit, and sing-along-in it).  I can use knives, spoons, and forks with both hands.  I can use chopsticks with my left, but I seldom do.  It’d take forever to pick up the drunken chicken and sliced pig ears that I so love to eat.

I can rub my head and pat my tummy.  Or rather, pat my head and rub my tummy.  Observe:

I’m predominantly right-handed; I tend to mouse and right-click-save-as with my right hand.  At work, however, I’ve had to alternate between hands or else my right elbow starts to feel funny.  Today, as I was resizing photographs and copying and pasting text, I noticed that I can mouse with the left hand and snap my right hand’s fingers in time with moderately upbeat music, but I have considerably more trouble mousing with the right hand and snapping with my left hand’s fingers.  Neuro-muscularly, I’m not sure what accounts for the ease of the former and the awkwardness of the latter.  There is the matter of Right-Left Brain dominance, I suppose.  There are a couple of things that my left hand can do by itself that my right hand cannot.  For instance, when I blow my nose, either I’m using both hands or my left hand.  My right hand doesn’t know what to do with the tissue to my nose…it refuses to position itself and hold the tissue the way my left hand does.

My left hand has inexplicable accuracy with throwing wadded up paper into trash cans, whereas, my right hand record is all over the place.  When I drive one-handed, my left hand tends to be on the wheel…at nine or ten o’clock.  I wonder about ambidexterity and athletes.  So, I did what any curious person in the 21st centry would do.  I turned to google.

The phrase “ambidextrous athletes” turned up caboodles of finds.  My favorites:

Tennis NE1?  (could I refer to this site as having a “retro” look?)

Sweet tea bags and NCAA and Motion TheoryLourdes, how cool!

Beisboll bats and what not.

Found on Fisher Price.

ESPN from June 2008.

rushed

When I searched the phrase, “I’m ambidextrous except,” the more relevant finds included:

Found on GameSpot Forums.

David Finkle thinking deep thoughts about the President’s handedness.

Jenny Doh holds a pen with each hand (check out that keyboard).

touched

And here is what happened with I searched, “ambidextrous NFL” :

Sports Illustrated from 1980–holy smoked salmon; check out that cover.

You can see the rest here.

4 thoughts on “With these hands I can do

  1. Kennedy Wong

    OMG!! a fellow Falcons fan (I actually went school in Atlanta), Ambidextrous, you can pat your head and rub your belly at the same time and to top it all off you can read 한국어….사랑해, 결흔날! 나도 한굴말를 조금..Very cool Blog..Good Job, I look forward to reading more!

    Reply
    1. sittingpugs Post author

      Ooo Falcons fan. What, where, and when did you go to school in the ATL?

      I can pronounce the hangul that you wrote. As comprehension,

      To top it all off, I can read
      한국어… Korean!

      사랑해, 결흔날! I know saranghae means “love.” What does 결흔날 mean?

      나도 한굴말를 조금 “I can speak in Korean now” ?

      I spend some time teaching myself how to understand Korean not just to be able to read it, and I got as far as recognizing parts of speech or tenses of verbs… but then grad school got in the way.

      And thank you for the kind words. I think I’m now sufficiently motivated to finish watching and writing about a few sports films DVDs sitting next to my DVD player.

      Reply
      1. Kennedy Wong

        Anytime, I am glad to be of help and motivate a fellow Falcon Fan whenever I can, We def need some after the way the season ended (too many injuries) but I’m still optimistic that Ryan will eventually get us a SuperBowl….and I went to Morehouse and graduated in 2004!..As for the Korean, 결흔날 means Marry Me, and the 나도 한굴말를 조금 means I too speak a little Korean. 조금 means little, 지금 means now. I’ve only been living here for a year so not that great yet, but pretty good, If I say so myself…..lol and did I read correctly that you are getting a grad degree as well? Good luck with that? What is it in?

        Reply
        1. sittingpugs Post author

          조금 means little, 지금 means now

          I always got those mixed up!

          I got my MA in Film Studies in 2007. I wrote my thesis on football in television and film. I think the Falcons could’ve or should’ve done better in the middle of the season, but at least they won more games than they lost.

          If you haven’t already, you should check this out.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

