Off Topic: Today’s Verse 32

Some nights you watch the telly and play Tetris.  Other nights you watch the President talk on the telly and play Tetris, and you notice the shots of the audience…and suddenly you can’t just mind your own business and bide your time until you expire.  You have to do something….that doesn’t entail supporting meta-rules-and-procedures.  You want to do something a bit more abstract but with a much longer shelf-life, and the best you can do is this…

minute by minute
the laser glass vibrates
the copper kettle on the stove shatters

the loon sits by the lake
second for second,
a frosted handle partakes
in the divining of alleviation

formidable opponent,
light up the nightmarish sky
his shoe-laces untied

terrible twenty
twenty-five marching harpoons
rust and fixate
their running masterminds
into the temple

of the falling dog
hungry eyes shiver
blanketed
cashed in for a quick answer

minute under five
seconds i have left
to see him disappear
.

–yiqi 1 dec 09 11:47pm

10 thoughts on “Off Topic: Today’s Verse 32

  1. kevmoore

    Randomly dropped by SP to find this great verse!

    Adore the line:

    “The loon sits by the lake”

    and

    “terrible twenty
    twenty-five marching harpoons
    rust and fixate”

    in fact, what the hell – I like the whole thing! Hope you had a great thanksgiving or whatever it is you lot get up to across the pond. 🙂

    Reply
    1. sittingpugs Post author

      As an American citizen, I thank you for wishing me a good Pilgrims Ate A Whole Bunch of Food Day.

      As a Chinese person, I say, “We don’t really do Thanksgiving” ^J^

      I appreciate your visit and feedback! The poem came about very spontaneously…it’s a bit of a sad one, don’t you think?

      In fact, most of my poems are on the sad/pensive/nonsensical side.

      Reply
  2. kevmoore

    It is a sad one, yes – and I find the same, mine tend to be sad and pensive also. Perhaps that’s when I’m in poetic mood…

    As an Englsih person, we don’t really do thanksgiving either , but we DO tend to eat a whole bunch of food most of the time.

    Reply
        1. kevmoore

          Having said that I refuse to be negative about any poen that says

          “…Biting hungrily into a pint of Chunky Monkey…”
          – and gives a passing nod to caramel.

          I can’t find it in my heart to dislike it. And now I’m hungry.

          Reply
  3. Kavitha

    I love it. I think it’s very different from your usual poems. I like the 3rd and 4th stanzas in particular. It’s ominous and sinister and mysterious… like a Mary Stewart novel. Well done. I watched the President too and fell asleep at the end, muttering how are we going to pay for all this?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

