On the Dreaded OT

Or dreadful OT.

Oliver Twist? Oregon Trail? Over-think? Out-Talk? Original Title? No.

I’m talking about overtimeESPN magazine‘s January 11, 2010 issue includes a feature article about thirty-one ways to improve upon the game-play and logic of sports.

Starting the list of 31 is to Mandate Instant Replay.  The third rule is to Make Pitchers Pitch and the Hitters Hit because nothing slows down a baseball game (even more) than watching a pitcher take five “to lick his paws” or a batter pause “to tug his gloves.”  The tenth rule, which had me laughing out loud in the bookstore, is to Allow 30 Seconds of Penalty-Free Post-Celebration.  Why?  Quoting Jaguars running back Maurice Jones-Drew, the folks at ESPN magazine sum it up with, “The NFL should lighten up.  In fact, we should be allowed to have props too.  Celebrations are entertainment, and that’s what people pay for.”  Good point, Mr. Jones-Drew, but I doubt the advertizers are spending thousands or tens of thousands of dollars on fifteen seconds of any NFL player moonwalking or doing the Charleston after a TD.

Peter Keating’s discussion of what should be done about overtime is number thirty-one.  Along with his article on hockey and concussions, it is the reason I purchased this issue.  I strongly encourage you to buy it from your local bookstore or newsstand while supplies last.   I’ve only read part of the latter piece so far, but I imagine it would make an appropriate companion piece to a Malcolm Gladwell article about the NFL and injury.

Do you love futbol? These English professors do and they’ve devoted a web site to how they think overtime should be handled.

~!~

Things I bought at Borders today.

I love, love The Hurt Locker.

I would also like to take this moment to thank all of the BCS and NFL fans who’ve found their way to my blog in the past three weeks.  I am especially grateful for those who stopped by my blog late this morning and allowed me to see a blog stat number of 80,888.  Auspicious!  Click here for a visual aid.

I give to you a random (and old) picture of myself.

Head, shoulders, knees, and toes!  Or, Cranium, clavicle, patella, and phalanges! and eyes and ears and mandible and nose.

Here is the translation of the song in the YT video:

Not Like an Adult

I turn around and I’m freed; and yet suddenly I’m unwilling
Your harmless smile peeks through, touches the cold of my face
You’ve let go of choices b/c love is too heavy
I don’t want to increase bitterness, see you again for me to come complete it

Broken traffic light silently accompanies you and me, waiting for daybreak
The rain outside the car window washed the bitterness
Drenched every time, your kiss betrays your sincerity
I admit the beauty of love is a completed seed, the beauty of love happens in the past

Chorus:
I am certain I love you, I am truly happy
You can’t necessarily give me much, but it’s all worth it
I am whole-heartedly willing, I sigh that you’re not like an adult
You don’t need to understand, letting you go is the greatest struggle on my journey

Broken traffic light silently accompanies you and me, waiting for daybreak
The radio broadcasts an old, slow song
Drenched every time, your kiss betrays your sincerity
I admit the beauty of love is a completed seed, the beauty of love happens in the past

Repeat chorus

I am certain I love you, I am truly happy
You can’t necessarily give me much, but it’s all worth it
I am whole-heartedly willing, I sigh that you’re not like an adult
You don’t need to understand, I’m so happy and I think it’s enough.

10 thoughts on “On the Dreaded OT

  1. Ethan

    For starters, TV networks that show NFL games have no interest in the outcome of games; the game is just a way to fill in the gaps between ads and keep you watching.

    With that said, OT rules are stupid because OT is a huge burden for television. It breaks their scheduling lineup and requires them to do a lot of guesswork following regulation. As such, they simply want the game to end ASAP.

    Hopefully I’ll be able to pick up the magazine and see if he proposes a good solution.

    Reply
  2. The Mark

    Those English professors have too much time on their hands.

    The NFL overtime rule needs to change. I don’t know if the college system is what’s needed but both teams should have at least one crack at it.

    The Malcolm Gladwell piece on concussions is a must read for anyone who hasn’t seen it yet. Plus, TMQ from ESPN’s Page 2 has a pretty good take on it. Mostly, he agrees with Gladwell.

    Reply
  3. sekanblogger

    Unless OT rules are compatible with the advertisers, nothing will change. Revenue first, quality of play last.

    Number 8 is my lucky number.
    I’ll be here for hit #88,888!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: NFC Championship 2010: the Saints crawfish bead the Vikings « Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

  5. Pingback: NFL News: It’s a Hard Knocked Life « Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

Leave a Reply

