Off Topic: Today’s Verse 39

 

I heard the lamb break
the spell
your tongue wags into a brittle basket
case filled with green jackets
carts with rusted wheels

I tied the lambs feet
together
and dropped your number down the well
5, 4, 3, 2
one more foggy memory

I saw the lamb,
enfolded
your compensating glove smells like cloves
in place
in my place
the stallion stomps a hole in

I saw one once
a lamb’s breath
taken for a super star
mistaken for your billowing arms
.

–yiqi 12 april 2010 11:42 pm

5 thoughts on “Off Topic: Today’s Verse 39

  1. jammer5

    Not too sure it’s as off topic as you think, but then again, it may just be my weird mind: I read green jackets and rusted cart wheels and pictured Augusta: run down, deer munching on overgrown greens; the occasional glove lying in the deep, weedy rough; a former super star looking forlornly at what once was.

    Reply
    1. sittingpugs Post author

      I started naming all the prose and verse entries “Off Topic:…” so I wanted to be consistent.

      You are right, though, about the “green jackets” and “rusted cart wheels.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

