That’s What I like about you

Yoo hold ming tight.  Tell ming I’m the only wong, wanna come over tonight?

The Romantics’ ode to adoration and giddiness applies quite well to what I like about books, tangible books.  I like holding books, I like flipping and thumbing through the pages and smelling them.  Hardback or paperback, I can throw a Dickens novel at someone without seriously injuring them.  I can drop a Dorothy Parker anthology down a flight of stairs without fear of it breaking.  Even if the spine’s glue is unable to keep the pages together, as long as there’s no mighty wind, I can easily retrieve them.  Clutched against my chest, a book could save my life if a knife or a bullet found its way to my torso.  With one of these gadgets, though, I’d constantly have to worry about it breaking, falling, and getting wet.  A coworker feels the same way.  He even pointed out the remarkableness of being able to bend a book (and a spiral notebook).  Can you say the same about your Kindle or iPad?

My coworker then asked me what book was the first I had ever owned.  I had to think about it for a few seconds, but Kirby Koala came to mind.  I’m not even sure I ever read it, I just looked at the pictures.  I didn’t develop a love for reading until I was in sixth grade.  Prior to that, I would just look at the pictures in children’s reading material and weird manga that a childhood friend had in his room.

Tonight would be the first time I read the first book I ever owned.

I couldn’t even spell my name!

A sample of the contents:

Take a look at the upper right corner of back of the book.

You may recall an entry I wrote a couple months back about the Page 99 test.  I decided to put four of my football books through it:

~!~

From Friday Night Lights:

~!~

From Beer and Circus:

~!~

From The Physics of Football:

~!~

From America’s Game:

Each 99th page conveys its respective book’s main theme quite well.   The 99th page of Friday Night Lights speaks on segregation and desegregation in Odessa football.   Beer and Circus introduces the significance of subculture and identity on school campuses.   The top half of America’s Game‘s page 99,  discusses changes in the way in which a team would think about game-play and the bottom half mentions the role of advertising.  The 99th page of  The Physics of Football, I must say though, doesn’t pass the test as well as the others.

~!~

In my previous post, I pondered about Scott Sicko’s state of mind.  Well, it seems he’s come to his senses and is now a Dallas Cowboy.

One thought on “That’s What I like about you

  1. Pingback: Race and Sports at Emory University | Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

Leave a Reply

