His cool suede boots

Thematically and narratively similar to the Highlight of my Taco Mac bench and the Highlights of my Dane, I had a wonderful conversation with a stranger this mid-morning in my trip to my nearest Starbux location.  Firstly, an unbelievably handsome, strapping lad with very good posture opened the door for me.  Secondly, I saw a father and son standing in front of the pastry display case.  The father let me order first.   He was holding his son in the crook of his left arm, so I had a perfect view of the son’s brown suede boots.  They were too cool for Tool, similar to but not exactly like this one:

I remarked, “His boots are so cool.  If I were a boy his age, I’d want shoes just like those.”

The boy’s father thanked me and then said to his son, “What do we say? What do we say when talking to an adult?”

The boy looked up at me, smiling shyly and said, “Thank you.”

The father explained why his son was wearing those particular boots and noted that Lowes stores are better organized in terms of presentation of merchandise but service is much better at Home Depot–the employees are more knowledgeable and actually acknowledge your presence.

The father was tall and looked like a mix between Roger Goodell and George Peppard.

I live for these moments.

12 thoughts on “His cool suede boots

  1. Phil

    I can imagine that if Norman Rockwell had walked in to the Starbucks and seen you talking with the man and his little boy, this scene would have found immortal life in one of his (Rockwell’s) paintings.

    Reply
  2. jammer5

    I had a five minute conversation with a five year old at a long check out line once. She explained to me how and why she liked broccoli. The beauty of the whole thing was remembering that train of thought at around that time in life.

    I stood there with a dumb grin on my face while her mom tried to surprises a chuckle.

    Reply
  3. sekanblogger

    I’m looking for suede flip-flops, or maybe even deck shoes.

    The blacks who used to wear ‘deck shoes’ always called the winos. I hadda ask why.
    It seems that the older black alcoholics in Watts and that area always wore those type of shoes.
    You would see them standing outside the liqour store with the 40 ounce in hand and they all wore these slip on shoes.
    Not only that, but they kept those things NICE!
    One old black guy I used to drink with always had a toothbrush with the handle 1/2 cutoff so it would fit in his shirt pocket.
    He’d get a little dust on his winos and would take the toothbrush to them real quick.
    He may have smelled like booze and vomit, but damn those shoes looked NICE!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: I Hate it Here with the Karate Kid « Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

  5. Pingback: Off Topic: Make A Stranger’s day « Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

Leave a Reply

