Off Topic: Make A Stranger’s day

I often stumble upon the opportunity to have short but pleasant conversations with strangers.  They may or may not remember it by the next day, but I certainly would.  I have a feeling that the exchange I had this morning with a stranger will be in both of our memories for more than a few hours.

While reading and consuming an iced vanilla latte at my favorite Starbux in all of the city this late morning, I saw a mother come inside the establishment.  She was holding an infant with one hand and pushing a stroller with her other.  Her light brown hair was down past her shoulders; she wore a bright blue v-neck dress with triangular sleeves.  After she came out of the facilities, we  made eye contact.  She had the prettiest bluish-green eyes I have ever seen in a woman.  I instantly thought of the actress Bridget Regan.

Bnager

She purchased an iced latte and headed outside to one of the tables under the covered patio.  She may have seen me watching her when she looked back into the store.  Although I was planning on staying at that Starbux for thirty more minutes, I didn’t want to miss the chance to tell her I thought she had lovely eyes.  Without over-analyzing my approach or choice of words, I gathered up my things and headed outside…just as she was getting up to leave too.  She was five steps ahead of me and when I got within ten feet of her and she happened to look to her right, I said, “I know this sounds strange but I wanted to tell you that you have the prettiest eyes.”

Her face lit up like a sunrise.  She thanked me for the compliment and remarked that she was having a bad morning…she’d felt ugly because she’d recently had a child and gained all this baby weight, and she was on her way to a birthday party and nothing she tried on looked right.  I then assured her that she looked lovely, “That blue looks great on you.”  She thanked me again and said I made her day.

Will she remember me or just what I said?  How much of me would she remember? If she were to tell her friends at the birthday party about what I had said, would it come down to me being “this girl,” “this Asian girl,” “someone.”  I would be content with any of them.   I don’t frequently get to make the days of strangers; the reverse is more common.  Other people are more likely to make my day.  A couple of hours later, I started to wish that I had gotten more than her name.  I wished that I had given her a way to contact me in case she ever needed a sympathetic ear that was outside her own social circle.  Alas, if I am to cross paths with her again, it’ll happen.

5 thoughts on “Off Topic: Make A Stranger’s day

  1. Philippe

    “……I wished that I had given her a way to contact me in case she ever needed a sympathetic ear that was outside her own social circle……..”

    Perhaps what you said so touched her that she may go again to that Starbucks in the hope that she’ll see you there.

    Reply
    1. sittingpugs Post author

      Peut-etre. It’s forty-five minutes north of where I live…I visit that one one average once every couple of weeks. She did ask what my name was first…and then said it was very nice to meet me.

      When someone that you don’t know compliments you, even if it’s something your family or close friends tell you verbatim, it somehow ends up sounding truer … more convincing.

      Reply
  2. kevmoore

    Oh, SP! She’ll remember you forever. What a rare and precious gift we have, to make someone’s day, and it costs exactly nothing.

    Back in 1998, when I was touring America with a Punk band, we were in San Francisco, getting ready to play the Cocodre club. I took it upon myself to wander off ‘exploring ‘ and wandered into the Mission district, wearing a Raiders jacket, no less!

    I remember sitting at an outdoor pizza place and eating a Pizza and a homeless lady came up to me. I don’t know how we really got into conversation, but I found her delightful and interesting and offered her some pizza. I can honestly say we had a nice time sat there chatting and eating, and she seemed stunned that I’d offered her some pizza. It was one of the highlights of the tour for me, meeting a ‘real’ person. As I met up with the other guys and told them the district I’d disappeared into, they seemed amazed I hadn’t been shot, stabbed, or both!

    Reply
  3. sittingpugs Post author

    As I met up with the other guys and told them the district I’d disappeared into, they seemed amazed I hadn’t been shot, stabbed, or both!

    I’m surprised the woman didn’t clobber you on the head with a wad of cloth, tsk, and then huff away….or so the stereotype goes in visual culture. Homeless don’t want your food, they want money, so they can buy their own food or other items that may or may not provide adequate nutrition.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

