Moore and Moore and Hsu

I detailed a couple years ago the way in which Abra Moore is magic.  Tonight, after I had washed my locks, I discovered that another Moore possess a comparable amount of inexplicable truth and time-space-continuum-bending power.  Her name is Mandy.

AM MM

I’ve been pressing forth in a mind-braking and soul-soaring storyline for a few months.  When I first stepped back and assessed the mise-en-scene and featured participant, I could find no adequate lyrical representative of what I felt or the form in which the story was taking.  Thematically, I was at a loss.  But one day, in a moment of deified clarity, it occurred to me that Abra Moore’s song “No Fear” (from the album Everything Changed).  The lyrics:

Come on in now, come in out of the crowd
Too many faces, too many loud sounds
Stay awhile, won’t you stay here in front of me
Take your chances on what could be

And when it’s cold out, feel no fear
Here’s someone to hold on to now, feel no fear

So many lights now, their calling me to the night
So many strangers on this broken avenue
Feel no fear

Change, won’t you roll me down and I can’t go in
Change your way won’t you ride me down

~!~
Although I’m somewhat embarrassed to admit I like the Mandy Moore’s music, her song “Cry” (from her second album), granted me an immense sense of serenity and understanding…that the artistic force behind my recent poetic works was soothed.  By the time the first chorus came and went, I thought to myself, “W o w.  This is what happened, what went through my psychology and physiology.  I couldn’t have said any of it better myself.”
The lyrics:

I’ll always remember
It was late afternoon
It lasted forever
And ended so soon, yeah
You were all by yourself
Staring up at a dark, gray sky
And I was changed

Chorus:
In places no one will find
All your feelings so deep inside (deep inside)

It was then that I realized
That forever was in your eyes
The moment I saw you cry
(Cry, the moment that I saw you cry)

It was late in September
And I’d seen you before
(And you I)
You were always the cold one
But I was never that sure
You were all by yourself
Staring up at a dark, gray sky
And I was changed

Chorus

And I wanted to hold you
I wanted to make it go away
And I wanted to know you
I wanted to make your everything all right

I’ll always remember
It was late afternoon
In places no one will find

In places no one will find (Oh, no, no)
All your feelings so deep inside (deep inside)
(Forever was in your eyes)
It was there that I realized
That forever was in your eyes
The moment I saw you cry
Baby ,cry
The moment I saw you cry (Oh, no, no)
I think I saw you cry
The moment I saw you cry
I wanted to know you (X3)

~!~

It’s somewhat eerie, uncanny that the Mandy Moore eureka was preceded by a prologue of calm facilitated by this Rebecca Hsu Tong-En’s song “Be Myself”  (from her album of the same name).

RHTE

Sitting in traffic at my exit, this song (in Mandarin) made everything okay.  Chinese lyrics followed translation (done by yours truly):
BeMyself

Be Myself – Rebecca Hsu TongEn

Are (we) walking too fast? Love has spoiled us rotten
Can we stop for a bit? Just a bit will do
Occasionally I’ll want to snatch a moment of leisure, Good or bad I’ll wait for tomorrow to think about it
Occasionally I’ll be tired of it, Good or bad I’ll wait for tomorrow to talk about it

*Don’t want to love you or him, I just want to be myself
Just for myself, I’ll breathe a little more
Even if loving you is better than loving him,
It doesn’t compare to letting myself free

Are (we) walking too fast? Love has spoiled us rotten
Can we stop for a bit? Just a bit will do
Occasionally I’ll want to loosen a string, And good or bad I’ll wait for tomorrow to think about it
Occasionally I’ll want to be unable to hear, Whether it’s good or bad I’ll wait for tomorrow to talk about it

Repeat *

Not for you; for him, I just want to love myself
Just for myself, be a little more honest
There is no you, no he, no one
All that’s left is my wandering self

Are (we) walking too fast? Love has spoiled us rotten
Can we stop for a bit? Just a bit will do.

~!~

The translation does no justice to Rebecca’s song.  If one were to take the translation to heart, it would mean that I would want to walk away, relinquish this storyline that has occupied my life for some time now.  I have no desire or intentions of leaving it; yet, the reason why the song hit the right spot was because I needed to remind myself and to remember (for myself) how to be myself…how to just be (by) myself.

Soundtrack for a lifetime.

~!~

Another Psychology Today fleur.  Its focus is on amorous relationships but some of it can apply to any kind.  A few of its suggestions are a tad…”well of course,” but I like these two (incidentally, the first two):

1.  You know a good potential relationship when it brings out the best in you. You know a bad potential relationship when it brings out aspects of yourself that you don’t like.

2. Should you “settle”? That can’t be answered in the abstract. Every person is a package deal. But it’s a red flag if you don’t feel that the relationship is bringing out the best in you.”

8 thoughts on “Moore and Moore and Hsu

  1. Philippe

    A relationship (or just plain friendship) which brings out aspects of yourself which you don’t like, or which otherwise doesn’t bring out the best in you, is best described as toxic.

    It’s my experience that most friendships or relationships, after an initial period of being nourishing, eventually become toxic. This is when they must terminated in the interests of happiness, and even of self-preservation.

    Reply
  2. jammer5

    Why would anyone be even slightly embarrassed about what music they like? I’ve always held music to be a personal thing, and when it can be shared with others of the same taste, it makes it that much better.

    I really likes Abra’s song, both the music and the lyrics. Not much of a fan of Mandy though. They are two distinct styles of music.

    Rebecca Hsu Tong-En’s song , without understanding a word (I’ll take your translation to heart), struck me for the pacing and voice. Makes one want to learn a foreign language.

    Interesting insight into relationships (or friendships, as you say): I found in my own experience that lost and later found friendships produce some surprising results, not all of which are pleasant. The main problem I find is breaking a friendship in a way that is conducive to future communication. For instance, should something happen in a way of mutual friends, communication on a personal level may be the only way to deal with it. A recent event opened my eyes to that in ways I hadn’t thought of.

    Reply
    1. sittingpugs Post author

      Why would anyone be even slightly embarrassed about what music they like?

      Good question. Unlike food or even clothing, taste in music (and movies and books too) passes through a collective filter. The shame a person may feel in enjoying a song, movie, or book has everything to do with it being subjective rather than objective. It’s counter-intuitive …. and because a person can like a song based on criteria other than “quality” or “merit,” if there’s no “justifiable” reason to like something, one is all the more reluctant to admit liking it.

      And just because a lot of other people like a song or singer, doesn’t make it any easier to proclaim one an admirer. There’s a perception of accepted “coolness” or lack thereof of consuming a cultural product (other than fashion) that can foster feelings of embarrassment.

      And the reason that, to me, food and fashion are excluded is because it’s impossible to justify why Sven would like a food item or wear an article of clothing at all. It’s not about justifying…it’s just about the consumer’s taste. Now, if we broaden it to his restaurant activities or shopping destinations, then we can include potential humiliation in there.

      “I’m so embarrassed that I like going to _____ .”

      Thanks for checking out these songs too.

      Reply
      1. jammer5

        Interesting perspective, although I don’t agree with all of it. Let me explain: music is different from every other media in ways that are difficult to explain. music can touch the soul of one person, and leave the next cold. Music can start a beat inside one a book or movie would have a difficult time duplicating. As they say, music soothes the savage beast, all that’s required is listening.

        I know people who wouldn’t listen to anything but mainstream music for reason I’ve never been able to understand. Then again I know people, such as myself, who listen to very little main stream, and actively look for both unknown and/or fringe musicians, sorting them out as I find them. And I know people in every niche in between.

        I can’t and don’t classify others as to their musical preferences because I personally have no idea how it effects then internally. That I might like a group, or a particular genre of music, and I find others with like tastes, allows me to discuss with others what it is we have in common over the music in and of itself. Such dialogue has led me to listen to artists I would have never heard of otherwise. I really think music is the most personal media there is. Even on disagreeing, I think it proves itself. Then again, I might be way off base 🙂

        Reply
  3. sittingpugs Post author

    I see what you’re saying…Jammer. We are/were approaching the issue of qualifying music taste from different POVs. I was approaching it from more of a … marketing standpoint perhaps?

    Reply
    1. jammer5

      Got it now. I used to play in various bands in various bars in various states, even Guam, and we were continually marketing ourselves in any way we could, using our music as the vehicle of communication. What we didn’t understand way back then was we really sucked, but damn, it sure was fun.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Simultaneously Conflicting Theories « Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

Leave a Reply

