Illusory Reminiscing

I remember when the morning tapered into a rose quartz blanket.   The uprights freshly painted, the parking lot vacant.
I remember when the balustrade was still a sketch, tied up in a stack of Swede nothings.

She placed upon me, a crown of Atlas, my shoulders must not tremble.
She festooned upon my brow, a round of platelets, my arteries quickly quake.

I fled a fuscous outlook, guaranteed if I didn’t break away, for the shores of her iris emblems.
I re-stitched the craquelure of fumble-recoveries and outran the clutches of a moldy ever-after.

I remember what tomorrow sings, an eighth note held for longevity.
I conquer all the naysayers, swoop Gandhi into my marrow:

First they ignore you,
then they laugh at you,
then they fight you,
then you win.

–yiqi 7 march 2011 8:43 AM

Leave a Reply

