The Parenthesis and the Song Title

By way of Slate.com, a list of 169 Song Titles with Parentheticals (In Order of Parenthetical Charm).  I never understood why songs have parenthesis in them–why call it “Pride (In the Name of Love)” instead of “Pride, In the Name of Love” or “Pride – In the Name of Love” or even “Pride in the Name of Love” ?

Check it out; how many of the songs have you heard before?  I’m familiar with numbers (with embedded YT links so you can refresh your aural memory):

168,
165,
163,
160,

159,
155,
154,

148,
141,
140,

136,
130,

128,

113,
111,
110,

108,
105,
104,
103,
102,
101,
100, – I was in elementary school; I was a fan.  I wonder how many times they had to do the dance routine.

95, – more cowbell!
94,
93,
92,

88,

73,
72,

67,
64,
63,
62,

58,
57,
56,

45,

28,

18,
17,
6

I wonder if Jolie Kerr would consider writing an entry about songs that end with the fade-to-silence.

Detour:  I set a goal to refrain from making media purchases until the start of football season.  I’ve been good for nearly four weeks, but in gathering links to the above numbers, I stumbled across Sara Bareilles.  Now I finally know who sings this song about not writing you a love song–she is so lovely!  I wish the entire video were just of her singing into the camera.

Before I set this no-purchase goal, I had already decided on a book for June and the season 4 of Everwood on DVD for August.  And now…mmm, the temptation to have Sara’s album be an exception calls out to me with the sweet chimes of promised contentedness.  Qu’est-ce que je dois faire?

I could add it to my Amazon wishlist.  Ou

3 thoughts on “The Parenthesis and the Song Title

  1. jammer5

    Ahhh . . . Don’t you forget about me. Set to, The Breakfast Club, one of the best teen angst movies ever made.

    Dirty Dancing – Time of my Life (Final Dance): One of the best dance movies ever made and the perfect song to compliment it.

    The Proclaimers – I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) is on my jump drive in my car. As is Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This). As is Aerosmith – Dude (Looks Like A Lady).

    I listen to pretty much all music genres, so have heard most of the ones you posted. Many bring back memories long forgotten. Muchos Gracias for the post. Made my day in a good way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

