Do You Drive a fast car?

I never really liked Tracy Chapman‘s song “Fast Car” when I first heard it.  I didn’t dislike it, but it didn’t have that music-as-manna effect on me that is required in order for me to like a tune.
VGLJiconE

But then this morning, I watched a parody video about why nice guys finish last, which led to a hyper-trail jaunt to Kina Grannis.  I eared through a few of her YT videos and was utterly mesmerized.  Lady lovely voice and aesthetics.   She and Boyce Avenue did a cover of “Fast Car” — manna to me.

6 thoughts on “Do You Drive a fast car?

    1. sittingpugs Post author

      Check out their rendition of With or Without You.

      I don’t think I’ve ever heard a “bad” or poorly done cover of this U2 song. I wonder if that’s what separates a catchy song from a good song from a great song. A great song can’t be performed badly regardless of who does it?

      A catchy or merely good song, on the other hand, relies upon quality of arrangement and vocals?

      Reply
  1. sportsattitudes

    If a song has truly great lyrics, I agree it is pretty hard to mess up regardless of who puts it out there. If a song doesn’t have those superior words, then it can go sideways quickly IMHO if in the wrong hands/mouths. That being said, I consider some songs great that have nothing more than one “easy” hook and lyrically are simplistic with a giant capital “S.” Those songs can never been replicated well enough for me because of the uniqueness…of being so very basic and one-dimensional. I don’t know if I’m making sense here, but music is so personal it sometimes is hard to…put into words!

    Reply
  2. sekanblogger

    I agree on the Chapman version. Too mediocre, even for me.
    I did like the blues tune, “Gimme some reason to stay”, or at least that’s the chorus.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

