The Wind in the windows

A year ago I eagerly awaited the start of the 2010 NFL season.  Inspiration and enthusiasm soared as I envisioned weekends filled with professional and the occasional college gridiron spectacle.  This year is different.  The scope of my excitement is less substantial, less intense.  Will I still watch the Atlanta Falcons this season?  Absolutely.  Will I write about each game?  Peut-etre.

Today I saw two butterflies chasing and circling one another, darting in and out of a line of cars.  For just a moment, I wanted to switch places with one of them.  I know better, though.  The ease of taking flight is an illusion.

Things have been strange in the land of Ming.  Reality suddenly does not feel quite real.

 

3 thoughts on “The Wind in the windows

  1. Christopher

    Your apparent waning enthusiasm for football, and your seeing the two butterflies, may not be unconnected.

    You are no doubt changing inwardly as you go through life. Football, which had nourished the larva, or pupa, that you once were, nourishes you less as you slowly transform into an iridescent butterfly about to fly away from the grey encasing wall of football, to live the sights and sounds of all the world beyond, to become intoxicated with all the fleeting joys that ephemeral life has to offer.

    Reply
    1. sittingpugs Post author

      Holy apple fritters, Batman!

      to live the sights and sounds of all the world beyond, to become intoxicated with all the fleeting joys that ephemeral life has to offer..

      – That happens to be a motif in/of my existence. My love of football began as an academic pursuit and source of aesthetic pleasure.

      as you slowly transform into an iridescent butterfly about to fly away from the grey encasing wall

      – What’s more, in the past couple of weeks I’ve seen enormous butterflies perched on pillars in parking garages–retail and residential alike. I’ve never been a fan of these gravity-defying insects. They actually frighten me from time to time.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

