When Taken Out of Context

When taken out of context, or interpreted from the wrong context, certain phrases can come across as inappropriate, nonsensical, disappointing, or depressing.  Observe:

I live for Butts.”

Butts County, GA.

From the first moment I set eyes on her, I knew she would be the first face I’d see in the morning and the last face I’d see at night.  I would watch over her and feed her till death do us part.

As one prison guard might think in regard to an inmate on death row.

I’ve been waiting for this moment my entire life.”

As one man of faith may think to himself as he teeters on the edge of death, to know if there is consciousness after the heart ceases to beat and the brain declines to transmit waves.

And there you thought I was speaking of derrieres, matrimony, and any other turning point in life.

And now I shall digress.

Marton Csokas + Dougray Scott = Russell Crowe.

Anna Paquin and Holly Hunter played daughter and mother in The Piano (Jane Campion, 1993).  Who knew Paquin would grow up to look like Hunter?

 

Leave a Reply

