The Best Anti-Bully(ing) Song Ever

Realistically, it may not get better.  Bullies are not unique to middle school and high school.  They exist in utero, pre-school, elementary school, college, the work place, and anywhere that involves interacting with other sentient beings.  Whether or not one necessarily becomes the target of a bully’s attentions is another matter.

One can “kill them with kindness,” pay them no mind, learn how to stand up for oneself, or just submit to a meanie’s demands.  But, kindness may not register, indifference may aggravate, a non-pushover may encourage, and one who surrenders without a fight risks total domination.

 

Or, one can belt out this song like it’s a Broadway show tune.  If one can find a group of similarly intimidated classmates, neighbors, coworkers, and the like, one can do a flash mob!  It is the best anti-bully(ing) song I can think of that isn’t primarily of the “you suck, but I don’t care” ilk.

I make you uncomfortable when I’m around
You always find a reason to shut me out
You don’t understand me, so you push me away
And you claim Jesus lets you live that way

Tell me, Why me?
Why am I not welcome in your company?
Why do you treat me like an enemy
If you believe the way you say you do
Oh, then why am I unlovable to you?
Oh, why am I unlovable to you?

She’s got a child and no place to live
All we can think about is our politics
Where is the love now?
Oh, that we talk so much about that we shout
cause I don’t think she sees it
She’s saying,

Why me?
Why am I not welcome in your company?
Why do you treat me like an enemy
If you believe the way you say you do
Oh, then why am I unlovable to you?
Oh, why am I unlovable to you?

So we said we loved Jesus, but didn’t we kill him?
cause we thought he was different
What was he thinking? What was he feeling?
I bet he was saying,

Why me?
Why am I not welcome in your company?
Why do you treat me like an enemy
If you believe the way you say you do

Tell me, Why me?
Why am I not welcome in your company?
Why do you treat me like an enemy?
If you believe the way you say you do
Oh, then why am I unlovable to you?
Oh, why am I unlovable to you?

   

I like Plumb.

Leave a Reply

