Between Sleep and Waking

Divine grace came to me as an animal totem in the form of a bald eagle as I lie curled up in bed.  In a state not even between being asleep and awake, as Burning Lights played on my discman, I saw a giant, majestic bald eagle in my mind’s eye.  He knelt down in front of me and let me get on top of the nape of his neck.  He took to the air and we soared over canyons, forests, and rivers that glistened.  I felt calm, safe, and powerful.

There were scenes where I was in a ski lodge and I’d look over to a window and see the eagle tapping on the window.  I’d go outside and he would take me to the skies again.  Curiously, just when the vision included flight, the song “Sovereign” began to play.  I think it was quite apt, lyrically speaking.

I call it divine grace and not just an animal totem because I had been calling out to the Judeo-Christian God that night.   I’ve called out to this god many times before in my life and had never experienced such a one-to-one correlation of the Judeo-Christian “ask and ye shall receive.”  I had been asking for help with strength, perseverance, and guidance.  Low and beholdIf an individual has been going through a hard time, eagle not only signals a new beginning, but provides that person with the stamina and resilience to endure the difficulties. If eagle has appeared, it bestows freedom and courage to look ahead. The eagle is symbolic of the importance of honesty and truthful principles. Summon the eagle when you are about to embark on a challenge, a massive life change or a creative endeavor.

Previous encounters of unseen-force-intervention always leaned more towards serendipity, ancestral action.

Learn more about the bald eagle here.

Leave a Reply

