Reunion with An Old Friend

It has been such, such a long time since I’d drawn anything mimetic, specifically half a face.  I used to make these sketches on any piece of paper I didn’t have to submit as a homework assignment or an official document.  I was at dinner, waiting for my food, and suddenly felt inspired by the white paper atop the table cloth.

 

impromptuart

 

The song I quoted is “Lost Stars” from the film Begin Again (John Carney, 2013).  Keira Knightley sings one version in it and I absolutely love it.

 

Somewhere, somehow, sitting at the dinner table, I found that girl again; the one I used to be (sometimes), the one I really liked to be when I wasn’t doing school work and trying to figure out how to be a contributing member of society, upholding the social contract and all that blue grass.  I want to know her again.  I want to be her again, not all of the cynical and excessively misanthropic hues, but the good stuff.  J’en veux.

 

PS.  I am growing out my bangs.
PPS. During the summer of 2013, I bemoaned the impossibility of talking to one’s body in a way that it would listen and behave accordingly.  I have discovered recently that it is entirely possible to speak to one’s body in a way that it will be accommodating.  One just really has to believe the body will oblige.

2 thoughts on “Reunion with An Old Friend

  1. Christopher

    “……sitting at the dinner table, I found that girl again; the one I used to be…….”

    Ton enfant intérieur?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

