Perhaps You Would Look at Me and 22

I was listening to this mostly upbeat Chinese song called “Perhaps You Would Look at Me” by AFU the other day and started paying attention to the lyrics (first aurally and then I looked at the lyrics).  I liked it the instant I heard it over about a year ago but never felt compelled to look at the lyrics until I wondered to myself, “Okay, what is she singing about ‘chocolate’?”

I played this song seven times in a row and was overcome with a “happy-sad” mindset that only Chinese songs have been able to evoke.  After taking a closer look at the lyrics, though, it’s not sad at all.  On the contrary, it’s somewhat sappy.  Behold (Chinese followed by English translation done by yours truly):

Afu

Translation:

Perhaps you would look at me, waiting for autumn waters
The smashed loneliness has spread into moonlight

Why is it that a long time ago love could linger so?
It gives all without limit, even crying is but warm tears?

Why is it that in movies love is inevitably tumultuous,
and makes life rich and strong, and can leave behind lasting and bright memories?

Why have my love affairs been like hamburgers?
They’ve never tasted good,
But if I force myself, I can eat until I’m full,
they’re just too ordinary and boring

I dream that I arrive at Cambridge
He’ll be romantic for me and get drunk for me
The sentiment of the person I am mesmerized to death with
will steal a laugh at that perfection

Male Narrator:
[Half of my life has crossed through maple leaves and shaken white snow,
just to rush in front of you
Having you in my palms fills in a spring day,
henceforth, time is forgotten, the world is forgotten
In your eyes, flying and spiraling,
it reveals a rose that only the two of us can see ]

Why is it that a long time ago love could linger so?
It gives all without limit, even crying is but warm tears?

Why is it that in movies love is inevitably tumultuous,
and makes life rich and strong, and can leave behind lasting and bright memories?

The love affair I want is good like chocolate,
so sweet, I forget my troubles
One glance and I dance
One inhalation and I raise the corner of my mouth

I dream that I arrive at Cambridge
He’ll be romantic for me and get drunk for me
Love revolves around in the air,
allowing happiness to open fully in one’s embrace

Male Narrator:
[I’ll never use written poetry again
because we’re already in the poem
When my inner self was delicately read by your eyes,
I finally understood that the details of happiness
are the heavenliest flavor].

Perhaps you would look at me, waiting for autumn waters
The smashed loneliness has spread into moonlight.

~!~

AveLeffarig

 

I also decided to look into the lyrics of David Tao‘s “Twenty-Two” — Taylor Swift isn’t the only one who sang about this age.   Again, Chinese lyrics followed by English translation by yours truly.

DT

Translation:

Spring is her most beloved season, as the breeze mindlessly ruffles her hair into a mess
She doesn’t necessarily care about the world’s chaos, she just thinks about the changes in her own life
There’s still 15 minutes until the afternoon, from morning until night it’s not much better than she imagined
A stable life doesn’t guarantee happiness, she can’t forget the dreams within her heart

* This lunar year on March the 6th, she just turned twenty-two
She just tossed out her school books and wants to leave home to see the world
Yet, she discovers there are many issues on her mind to confront, Oh Yeah
* She often reminisces about returning to that year when she was twelve,
of just being a good student, existence was innocent and without sadness
She’s just like a flower bud filled with hope

Autumn suddenly approaches, even though youth can afford to be carefree
A love affair of twenty-two months results in realizing that there are some feelings not worth risking
It’s still a bit warm for September, she’ll go by foot if the taxi doesn’t arrive
She begins to understand that waiting doesn’t necessarily lead to an outcome, a person can still step onto the path to a dream

Repeat *
She often reminisces about returning to that year when she was twelve,
of just being a good student, existence was innocent and without sadness
She’s still filled with hope

Sometimes people embark on an unknown road, it’s like a target without a map
Don’t let them tell you you should be content, what you know is your happiness

She often reminisces about returning to that year when she was twelve,
of just being a good student, existence was innocent and without sadness
She’s still filled with hope
She smiles as she thinks about the future, Oh
She deserves happiness, so this simple dream
will it be be realized?

 

cinvy38

Leave a Reply

