Still Pond

My grandmother used to say that learning was life-long, not just a matter of “schooling” by a system of data-obsessed monotony mongers.  Revelations are life-long as well.  Never cease to be amazed or surprised by the the breadth of your behaviors, thoughts, or perspectives.  Recognize the bleak, the deplorable, the perverse, the graceful, the forgetful, the befuddled, the ravenous, the satiated, the frailty, the perseverance, the transitional, and the radiant that drifts through your bone marrow.

Being whatever or whoever one endeavors to be pertains to more than an occupation, a mindset, or a sociological, geopolitical outcropping.  The time that I have left as a human being in this century will not be crafted by trends or the quiet.  I’ve never given a horse’s patoot about what is popular or what is socially acceptable, but I’ve been quiet and polite. Plus jamais.

I reject futility.  The mirage is the monster, the monster is the mirage.  Multifaceted creatures do not speak in singular voices.  Neither will I.  If we ever have the chance to meet, and you tell me your name is Jeremy and you’re an architect (because you’ve always wanted to be one but your high school sweetheart sacked that dream before it ever got a chance to get out of the pocket), but you’re really a visiting econ and finance professor, it’s all right.

Play the role of an architect, imagine environmentally loving and aesthetically innovative mixed-use developments.  I’m not going to be taken aback because you’re a creative narrator.  On the other hand, if you neglect to mention that you have almond allergies and I urge you to try a piece of pastry (filled with finely chopped almonds) and you die on me, I can’t be held responsible, and I will say to your dying body, “You should’ve told me you had food allergies.”*  I would feel badly about it, particularly if you had human, canine, feline, or floral dependents.  Whether or not you want me to find out you’re really an econ and finance professor is a whole other contemplation.  Either put the disclosure statements on the table up front so I get the back-story of your architect persona, or if the back-story is irrelevant to the desires, hopes, and wishes of the architect, just say so.

Today’s post was partially inspired by Jars of Clay.

It’s a little bit, a little bit late to try for something better.
It’s a little bit, it’s a little bit late to try to cut the anchor.
So if you wanna know, I’ll go there with you.
I’ll go there.

It’s when I think to reach across those battle lines,
still love in the hard times.
Sometimes I just want to feel your hand in mine,
still love in the hard times.

It’s a little bit, just a little bit tired to fight for something better.
And the worst of it, the worst of it is I think of you more than ever.
So if you wanna go, I’ll go there with you.
I’ll go there.

It’s when I think to reach across those battle lines,
still love in the hard timess.
Sometimes I just want to feel your hand in mine,
still love in the hard times.

* Would one be held legally responsible for feeding someone a food product that contains an ingredient in which the eater did not disclose was a deathly allergen?

Leave a Reply

