Opinions are not Facts

Deep thought for the day:

Just because I haven’t stated my opinions, doesn’t mean I don’t have them.
Just because I state an opinion, doesn’t mean it’s my own.
Just because I articulate a fact or an opinion, doesn’t mean I believe in or agree with it.
Just because I point out an opposing argument or evaluative remark, doesn’t mean I believe in or agree with it.

So, when I am silent, when my body language does not betray what I really think or feel about a conversation I am hearing, are you more inclined to think that I’m relaxed and unbiased?  Or, that precisely because I am not shaking my head, tsking, trying to interrupt the speaker, or otherwise visibly seething, that you’d best be on guard because my genuine reaction (should I choose to show it), could be warm as a cup of hot cocoa on a cold winter’s morning or as painful as an alligator snapping turtle?

stinaByJH_4A

Here is a list of random opinions/assertions, can you guess which ones are mine vs. the ones I see the logic of but do not hold vs. the ones I think are hogwash?

1 ~ There is no nutritional reason to continue eating animals as food when non-animal sources provide all a person requires to stay alive.

2 ~ An adult of at least alcohol-purchasing age in the USA should have the unalienable right to self-terminate without their blood relatives incurring any kind of financial burden or societal shame (unless, of course, public or stranger private property is damaged in such a way as to be structurally unsound).

3 ~ Police officers tasked to write traffic tickets need to start paying more attention to women who put on makeup while operating a motor vehicle regardless of whether or not it is moving or stopped (unless, of course, the vehicle is parked and the engine off and poses no inconvenience to any other motorist in its vicinity).

4 ~ All job interviews should include this question: Are you allergic to cats, dogs, hamsters, bunnies, chinchillas, or other small furry animals that you know of?

5 ~ Non-violent criminals currently incarcerated should only have access to books written specifically for children who haven’t gone through puberty yet.

5 ~ Violent criminals currently incarcerated should only have access to stuffed animal puppets that are no bigger than an issue of Reader’s Digest for entertainment.

6 ~ Maintaining at least a 3.5 GPA is a reliable indicator that a person has the capacity to abide by a set of guidelines in that he is self-aware and disciplined enough to create the illusion that he will be or do something great in his future.

7 ~ Fraternities and Sororities are useless in a 21st Century society and only perpetuate heteronormative gender dynamics.

8 ~ The probability of anything happening is 50-50 — either it does or it doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

