Titles of My Life: 1

Victoria Almodovar knew all about my mother, the way she wore high heels and charmed every matador worth the blood on their hands.  My mother was like a fire bird, too fierce for ordinary life.  I tried to talk to her like any son might, but every attempt at closeness led only to broken embraces.

Victoria said it wasn’t my fault; I’d just had a bad education.  She said she would teach me the truth in 24 days.  Tie me up, tie me down until I confess the flower of my secret.  I need not compare myself with the cadre of live flesh for I am just like they were before they were pros.

Victoria commanded that I breathe in the skin I live in and proclaim when I’m so excited to be governed by the law of desire for America the beautiful and all of its dark habits.

The above bit of prose was inspired by the works of Pedro Almodovar and NFL Films.

3 thoughts on “Titles of My Life: 1

  1. Christopher

    “……I tried to talk to her like any son might, but every attempt at closeness led only to broken embraces…….”

    C’est typique entre fils et mère.

    Si une femme veut des enfants, elle devrait prier qu’elle a des filles.

    Reply
    1. sittingpugs Post author

      la même chose peut appliquer aux relations entre les pères et ses filles, n’est-ce pas?

      Est-ce que tu as remarque que “Talk to Her” and “Broken Embraces” sont les titres des films d’Almodovar?

      Reply
      1. Christopher

        “……..la même chose peut appliquer aux relations entre les pères et ses filles, n’est-ce pas?…..”

        Tu as raison. Je pense néanmoins que une fille s’occupera de son père dans sa vieillesse, mieux que un fils.

        “……..Est-ce que tu as remarque que ‘Talk to Her’ and ‘Broken Embraces’ sont les titres des films d’Almodovar?………”

        Je n’étais pas au courant de ça. Malheureusement, C’est parce que je n’ai pas vu des films d’Almodovar. Je devrais faire ça, parce que il est un metteur en scène très intéressant, et très rare – un homme qui est “a woman’s director”.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

