Perturbed, Unnecessary Roughness

 photo lostlollijacketshoot_tower2.jpg

I could be
just like you,
stomp and stare
as you do
when you walk down the street

and see displays of affection
you’d rather not see

I could be
just like you,
respond to those sights
with malice unparalleled

I could take you down
before you have the chance to blink
with unnecessary roughness
befitting a dirty line-backing fiend

I could introduce you
to my trusty bat,
made of such polished,
dense wood

the likes of which
you’d rather not see

I could spit semiotic toxins
in the face of your ego,
forcibly caress your fears
until you cry uncle

But I am not
just like you,
not this you
strutting from shadow to shadow
unable to transcend
unwilling to bend

a morsel of your pride
to allow room
for who I am,
for who you could be
for who would be

crossing finish lines
with the brevity of acceptance
with the assurances for a love
beyond the cage around your heart

I could have been
just like you,
fuming and berserking,
bringing down everyone
to the depths of my detesting

everything that
I’d rather not see

But I woke up,
looked upon the world
heaped at our feet,
a mirror between
the two of us,
eager to reflect
something better

If only you could
just let me be.

— yiqi 13 june 2016 6:02 pm

~!~

The above poem came to me as I was drying my hair and listening to this song by AOA and thinking about what it takes to refuse to let someone who disapproves of you, despises you and your love, dictate how you live…even if it means your time on earth is much shorter than it otherwise could have been.

Leave a Reply

