Explain It to Me Like I’m Ten

I was going down a short flight of stars, didn’t see the last two steps because I’d thought I was already on the last one and I fell.  The same thing happened several years ago and I was wearing the same skirt.  I rolled my right ankle, but it’s not too bad.  I can put weight on my foot and hobble.  Immediately after I fell and landed on my arse, I was filled with minor self-annoyance and major shock.  I somehow got myself up (while still carrying three bags) and tested how much it would hurt to put down my right foot.

It hurt a bit.  I was trembling as I got my bags into my car, then it became harder to maintain physical balance.  It was a struggle to stand up straight — I wanted to collapse but couldn’t do it in the garage.  I somehow got myself to the foyer, seeing stars and kaleidoscopic lights the whole time and noticing that sounds became quieter and quieter, then I flopped down onto a different set of stairs.  I came to moments later and drank some almond milk.  One of the cats just looked at me in my duress.  No discernible expressions of concern.

I’ve passed out/blacked out before due to very low blood sugar and heat.  It’s a very peculiar experience to know you’re about to faint.  The first time it happened, it was only due to low blood sugar and heat.  This time, though, there was an element of physical trauma.  There was probably a bit of insufficient blood sugar and it was a hot day.

Explain it to me like I’m ten.  What exactly happened in my body where falling down and sustaining a minor ankle injury made me shake and faint?  I’ve rolled/twisted my right ankle so many times in my life that I really need to pay more attention to where I put it.

And now for a pretty cupcake.

strawberry

5 thoughts on “Explain It to Me Like I’m Ten

  1. Christopher

    Twisting one’s ankle is – for me anyway, it is, because I broke an ankle when a child – a particularly painful experience, from which I usually take some weeks to recover. So, when you told of your rolled ankle, I almost felt your pain – well, at least your physical pain.

    Any injury is always a shock to one’s system, to which the body responds in different ways, including, I’ll surmise, fainting.

    That you were trembling after your accident, does bespeak that you also suffered emotional pain? If yes, could it have arisen from the fact that while falling, and during the immediate aftermath, you couldn’t control anything around you? So you were out of control – something that for so many of us (including especially me) can be frightening.

    Did you fall down in a public place, so that others saw you fall? If yes, you may have felt embarrassed, which may have caused the other sensations you told of. Had you rolled your ankle while walking on a path through a field where you were were completely alone, would you have been trembling after you got up again?

    Reply
    1. sittingpugs Post author

      I fell at home. If it had happened in a public place, I would have been mortified…because it’d have likely attracted a lot of attention, including offers to help. I think the trembling was a result of low blood sugar and the shock to the system. I also naturally have low blood pressure. I did some googling and apparently it’s not uncommon to experience dizziness, light-headedness and fainting after sustaining ankle injuries. this discussion details exactly what it was like for me.

      “…fainting is a common reaction to a sudden trauma…, and results from a momentary loss of blood pressure to the brain. Your fainting spell is your brains way of pushing the reset button. In those seconds right before you faint, you get signals to stop talking, stop moving, fall down, reset, wake up.”

      Precisement! That’s what happened to me… once I made it out of the garage and back inside the house, I got to the stairs in the foyer and then the reset happened.

      Reply
  2. Kavitha Rath

    Ouch. I hope you are feeling better, and that you actually did eat a cupcake like that to make you feel better. I believe what you experienced was a response to the shock of falling.

    Many years ago, I fell facing forward down a flight of marble stairs carrying a roller bag. I tripped on account of the imbalance in weight. I think I lost my center of gravity. Miraculously, I did not hit my head but fell on my knees and chest. When I got up, both my legs felt like jelly and I was trembling. I was really shocked that I fell and afraid I had done my body damage. Somehow I made it downstairs to get my cab to to the office. I had a colleague in the office who was a doctor check it out and he was certain it was only bruised, not broken.

    I had a flight that evening to Atlanta, from where I was leaving the next day to a trip to South Africa. By the time I got to Atlanta, my entire body looked bruised. I was terrified and silent all evening with my parents. Finally, I told my physician dad, and my parents were like: no wonder you’ve been acting strange all evening. He also confirmed it was nothing more than bruises.

    Reply
    1. sittingpugs Post author

      Hehehe. Alas, no cupcake. I do feel a lot better today. I never appreciated just how many parts, mechanics, and the entire physics of it all that enables a person to walk on a flat surface, navigate bumpy ground, and to go up and down stairs. I’ve been taking my limbs for granted it seems. Despite all of my dancing experience, I never really understood it until I could feel my thigh muscles react to changes in body orientation. It’s strange how the body doesn’t need the mind to “remember” it’s there, yet still needs to be treated well. And when accidents happen or there’s neglect, ooo, all those pieces will make themselves known like there’s no tomorrow.

      Wow! That was a tumble you took. Glad you didn’t sustain any graver injuries then.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Sports Thoughts Unhad | Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

Leave a Reply

