The Highlight of my Taco Mac bench

Psychologically (intellectually) in the same flavor as the top half of The Highlights of my Dane, a group of complete strangers made my day this evening while I was sitting on a bench outside the Taco Mac in Dunwoody.  I was waiting for friends and reading Chuck Klosterman’s book Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs.

SDCP

I was wearing the same jeans and sneakers that you see in this picture:

MeCPKForum1

And for a shirt, I was wearing what you see in this video (watch me speak Mandarin!)

As you can imagine, I must’ve been an anachronistic sight.  At one point, this group of possibly five young males steps out of the restaurant doors and walks by me.  I wasn’t wearing my glasses at that moment, because I was hot and sweaty.  My spectacles were hanging off the collar of my shirt.  The lad with the dirty-blond hair who wore a green shirt and light shorts noticed the book and praised me for my choice in reading material.  I concurred that the book is great, hilarious, and I remarked that “I love the interludes.”

“I’m so glad you’re reading that…,” he added.

Another one of them said, “Reading what, Twilight?”

By then, they were nearing the end of the building.  I turned my head to the right (still not wearing glasses and shouted, “Ewww! Why in the world would I be reading Twilight?!”*

I can honestly say that I have no idea what they looked like aside from being tall and reminding me of a walking advertisement for American Eagle or Aeropostale.   I’m not even sure if they live in Dunwoody or were just passing through; if they’re still in high school or are in college.  They were tall.

Nonetheless, they made my day.  I’ve had no luck identifying the motorcycle rider from this entry; nobody who may have seen that post recognizes him.  I don’t suppose anyone might have an inkling about the identity of the youth who complimented my choice of book.

And just how did I come to start reading Chuck Klosterman’s book when I’ve got about ten others to finish first?  Well, I was thinking about Saved By the Bell, the character of Tori (played by Leanna Creel), and why it was that she was on the show.  I did bit of typing and clicking et voila.   Enter the Tori Paradox.

~!~

*I’m not a hater, just not a lover.   I did watch the movie because I adore Kristen Stewart (the character of Alice as portrayed by Ashley Greene also grew on me).

4 thoughts on “The Highlight of my Taco Mac bench

  1. kevmoore

    Hey Pugs, thought I’d drop by and say hi after some time in the wilderness!

    Enjoyed your visual eating aid….and full marks for seriously pink sneakers.

    The book sounds fun, I’ve done everything except the drugs, but I needed to be weened of Cocoa Puffs via a government help program….

    Reply
  2. Pingback: His cool suede boots « Sitting Pugs: Sports Movies

Leave a comment